Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Paying too much for broadband? Move to PlusNet broadband and save£££s. Free setup now available - terms apply. PlusNet broadband.  

Thread: Veg Plot

Default Veg Plot

Who on here grows veg in Caithness? In the exposed regions!

I have an area all fenced off and ready to start planning and digging veg beds but I've never had a veg plot before and don't know where to start.
    I have the books but they aren't relevant to such exposed coastal sites as this.

Generallt what grows well up here? When do I sow em? Do I need to sow indoors and transplant later? What about protection?

I'd like to grow spuds - for all year -, leeks, carrots, courgettes, sweetcorn if possible (or is that expecting too much?)

Is crop rotation best?
    I can get hold of plenty of manure.
    Are raised beds best?
    Is it a good idea to use seaweed either as a mulch or as a liquid fertiliser?

Sorry, I'm a complete novice at this and my friend and I really want to get started on these all ready for next year.
    Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain.

http://thetenaciousgardener.blogspot.co.uk/

http://www.selfsufficientish.com/potatoes.htm#harvestYou could try this link. I used it before i got my veg patch going. I am now just pulling up my tatties and planted my late for christmas. I also have cauli, broccoli, beetroot, sweetcorn,leeks,onions and the likes growing. It should help if you are just beggining,,,,,,
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/gardening/grow_...rotation.shtml

Let me know if this any good for you...
    Last edited by justine; 09-Aug-07 at 21:43.

We grow veg up at groats and am very exposed. Wind and lack of sun has been a pain this year. We have planted a potential hedgerow round my spot, but that is for future years. So far we have had success with:

Peas
    Cauliflower
    Kohl Rabi
    Onions
    Challots
    Cabbage
    Spinach
    Carrots
    Spuds
    Sprouts
    Leaks