Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Paying too much for broadband? Move to PlusNet broadband and save£££s. Free setup now available - terms apply. PlusNet broadband.  

Thread: Computer says NO!

Unhappy Computer says NO!

I have a very annoying problem. My puter seems to switch off abruptly to the sound of what sounds like the needle being scratched across a record on a record player every half hour or so. I haven't lost any data yet but it is going to happen soon.

Any ideas what it can be? I have done a full up to date virus scan.

Thanks in advance!
    God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
    Courage to change the things I can,
    And wisdom to know the difference.

Wink Computer says NO!

You obviously need a new needle; I have a box of old "His Master's Voice" in the attic so could give you a few!

Strange! Mine has been doing the same but not so regularly . Makes you fairly get into the habit of saving more frequently as you go along.

I've got a feeling it may be the PSU (possibly overheating?) so have ordered a new one which should be here Wednesday so will let you know if that cures mine.

your CPU is either getting heated & shutting down or it is a PSU problem.
    PRAETORIAN