PDA

View Full Version : Ideas for a snack at 2am!

Dadie
19-Feb-10, 15:30
I am looking for ideas for an easy snack at 2am that I can make without waking up the rest of the household and can eat I handed while I feed my baby.

I have very recently been diagnosed as a diabetic so chocolate and sweeties are out!
(Used to munch away at the big bags of malteasers while feeding the girls when they were babies)

Crisps and toast just dont do it for me:lol:

Angela
19-Feb-10, 20:39
How about oatcakes dadie? With cheese or another topping?

Or Nairns do snack packs of wee oatbakes in cheese or sweet chili as well as unflavoured. Really easy to eat and though I'm no expert I think oats are quite low GI and would be good at keeping your blood sugar stable.

Must confess I could get through a whole gingerbread or pack of Jaffa cakes when I was feeding my babies :o, but obviously that's out for you.

cherokee
19-Feb-10, 20:43
How about pre-making something like a chicken/ham/salad wrap just before you go to bed.

Have it in a flour tortilla stuffed with the meat of your choice just ready to go and then a wee bowl of rabbity stuff, (salad:lol:!) prepared before you go to bed, just to pop in when you need it.

All wrapped up, it should be relatively easy to eat one handed.

If, like me, you enjoy cold food (which was once hot!) then how about (cold) chicken nuggets or fish fingers, either bought or home made. If you like either of those home made, then just make a big batch once week and keep them in the freezer making sure that they're shaped and of a consistency that can be held by one hand, which you could take out to defrost just before you go to bed.

Hope these ideas are of some help to you Dadie.
P/S I'm not talking from experience as I don't have bairns, but can imagine it's kinda difficult at that time of the morning, when you and the wee one both feel hungry !

Dadie
19-Feb-10, 20:58
Im not really that hungry, but, its something to do to keep me awake!

Twiggy