PDA

View Full Version : Just starting out

b3n
13-Jan-10, 11:39
Hi

I am just starting to get into photography and would like your opinions my photo's. No need to go easy on me though as I have loads to learn ;o)

Here is one I took of the stars. I took loads with different settings. What would you say is the best setting to use to take pictures of stars? I found it hard to focus on the stars as well.

http://i261.photobucket.com/albums/ii60/dad_mum/DSC_0039.jpg

North Light
13-Jan-10, 20:18
b3n,

Hi, I don't feel qualified to comment here as I have little or no experience of this type of photography, but hopefully Astroman or MPH will be able to give you constructive advice and criticism.

astroman
14-Jan-10, 00:40
You've started out the same way I did - try various settings and see what gives the best results. That's probably the way to continue, but you'll find some useful tips (& hopefully some inspiration) at weblinks in this post - http://forum.caithness.org/showpost.php?p=612799&postcount=3

The wide field photo you've taken of some prominent winter stars with the constellation of Orion in the middle is a good start. It looks a little out of focus, but as a result of this the stars stand out more in the photo, as do their colours (notice how two of the brighter stars - Betelgeuse and Aldebaran - have an orange/red tinge).
Note that some astrophotographers that can achieve much better results than me, will deliberately use a soft focus filter when photographing scenes like yours to make the brighter stars and their colours stand out more, so you getting a similar effect by being slightly out of focus is not necessarily a "bad thing".