PDA

View Full Version : Casting the Highlands adrift

crayola
04-Jun-09, 11:26
On reading many threads on the Org, I am on occasion led to believe Caithness feels sufficiently separated from the rest of the world in both geographical and cultural senses that people would prefer to be cast adrift in a more literal sense.

Let's see how this might be done by looking at a map of Scotland.

http://i39.tinypic.com/333vnmq.jpg

I'm no expert but I believe the Highlands north and west of the Great Glen between Fort William/Ben Nevis and Inverness were once geographically separate from the rest of the British mainland and they remain geologically separate. If the geological connection between the highlands and the rest of Scotland is sufficiently weak it may one day be possible to engineer a re-separation so that the highlands would become an island of which Caithness forms the north-east corner. We would take Mull with us to keep WBG happy.

Assuming this separation was accepted by the population, how far would we want to move away from mainland Britain?

- one mile, and still remain connected by a bridge or two?

- ten miles, with no bridge but with the possibility of building a tunnel in the future?

- fifty miles, with no bridge or tunnel.

- five hundred miles, we want to be truly alone!

Would the Scottish Highlands and Islands remain part of the United Kingdom?

Would it remain part of a possible future independent Scotland?

Would the Scottish Highlands and Islands become an independent state and if so what would its capital be? Fort William and most of Inverness would be left behind on the mainland but we would take Scorguie with us. :)