PDA

View Full Version : Last post.?

Kenn
18-Apr-09, 09:05
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/highlands_and_islands/8004284.stm

Am I being too simplistic here?
I have been following this story and it does n't make sense unless Royal Mail are going to withdraw the postal service too.
Is they are not, then they will still have to use a vehicle, employ a driver,pay fuel costs,road tax and the like. With that in mind, surely the conveyance of people in isolated communities makes more sense especially as the routes obtain a subsidy and that means some of the cost is nulified.
Perhaps I studied an out of date form of economics and am not up to today's thinking on such matters!

celtic lass
18-Apr-09, 09:55
it doesnt make sense withdrawing the post bus but in saying that who in their right minds would live out in the wilds without any kinds of transport to get you from a to b that makes no sense if thats where they want to live let them crack at it im sure neighbours would have cars etc they could help out each other its not up to royal mail to provide transport maybe they should have a mobile shop for that areas like i said who would live out in the wilds without any transport

shazzap
18-Apr-09, 09:59
Do they charge you to use the post bus?

It will cost more for them to take passengers and their shopping then to just carry mail, as there will be more weight which means more fuel and then the insurance premium.

EDDIE
18-Apr-09, 12:18
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/highlands_and_islands/8004284.stm

Am I being too simplistic here?
I have been following this story and it does n't make sense unless Royal Mail are going to withdraw the postal service too.
Is they are not, then they will still have to use a vehicle, employ a driver,pay fuel costs,road tax and the like. With that in mind, surely the conveyance of people in isolated communities makes more sense especially as the routes obtain a subsidy and that means some of the cost is nulified.