PDA

View Full Version : McKenzie - Manson - Binnach

GeoG
29-Jan-09, 20:31
Good evening,

I am new to family history and not long started my search. My G Grandfather was a William McKenzie born around 1849 in Bower. It appears by the Scotlands People certificate for his marriage that his mother was a Jane Manson, unfortunately I cannot locate a birth cert for him.

Jane Manson was his mother and from census records I know she was born in 1829 her parents being John Manson and Catherine " Binnach ".

Would there be anyone who can help pieces all this together for me........and where the name Binnach originated.

Thank you

George

cuthill
30-Jan-09, 00:35
What was his fathers name as sometime it does not give the mothers name

Rosemary Skea
30-Jan-09, 00:40
Hello George
John and Catherine had 5 children born in Olrig - you can get free info if you go to FREEREG.There were another two female Binnach's in Olrig with children ,Elizabeth and Isabella , but no males of that surname. Neither are there any marriages recorded in Olrig for the Binnach surname.

Rosemary Skea

Good evening,

I am new to family history and not long started my search. My G Grandfather was a William McKenzie born around 1849 in Bower. It appears by the Scotlands People certificate for his marriage that his mother was a Jane Manson, unfortunately I cannot locate a birth cert for him.

Jane Manson was his mother and from census records I know she was born in 1829 her parents being John Manson and Catherine " Binnach ".

Would there be anyone who can help pieces all this together for me........and where the name Binnach originated.

Thank you

George

GeoG
30-Jan-09, 17:04