PDA

View Full Version : Family

Ash
06-Sep-07, 15:20
hey everyone, i currently doing a course and the part im studying right now is about family structures, i was asked to define "family" i have done this but then it got me thinking about what everyone elses definition of family is

please respond as im very interested

changilass
06-Sep-07, 16:10
My family are the people I care about, be they related or not. :D

golach
06-Sep-07, 16:59
Exactly Changi, could not have put it better myself

johno
06-Sep-07, 17:24
exactly, well put changilass.

orkneylass
06-Sep-07, 17:25

That would be my definition of a friend. To me family comprises people I am related to by blood ties or marriage, whether I like them or not!

Andrew C
06-Sep-07, 18:29
Family are those who either share the same flesh and blood or who are united through marriage.

:)
Andrew

karia
06-Sep-07, 18:43
Family are those who either share the same flesh and blood or who are united through marriage.

Andrew

I find that to be a tad 'bookish'...and I suspect I know the book!:roll:

It is sadly restrictive, I have a hugely loving and supportive family..not that many of whom are actually related to me in your terms but they have proved their love for me over many, many years.

I also have the 'org family' and I can tell you something....they are a fine bunch of people who offer all sorts of support in many a crisis and a good shoulder to cry on.

In turn I have a few 'blood and marriage' relatives who, quite frankly 'don't give a monkey's' for family or anything else.

Karia

Thumper
06-Sep-07, 18:51
I totally agree with you Karia...just because we share a blood link with somebody doesn't mean they are actually going to give 2 hoots about us! Family are the people who are there for us no matter when or what!And the org family are there for all of us all the time-whether we want them to be or not lol X

bluelady
06-Sep-07, 20:18

Andrew