PDA

View Full Version : UKAEA Fined £140,000!!

Deemac
15-Feb-07, 13:44
Forgive me if I have this wrong (I am not an expert in this field).

UKAEA Dounreay receives it funding from The NDA. The NDA is funded by the government. The government is funded from your and my tax money.

UKAEA is fined by the legal system in this country which is paid for by (you've guessed it) your and my tax money.

So £140,000 of tax payers money is transfered from one publically funded organisation to another as punishment and lots of lawers get to make even more money during this process!! (so the total cost to the tax payer is??)

Are the only winners in this scenario the lawers? Have I missed something?:confused

Gleber2
15-Feb-07, 13:50
Forgive me if I have this wrong (I am not an expert in this field).

UKAEA Dounreay receives it funding from The NDA. The NDA is funded by the government. The government is funded from your and my tax money.

UKAEA is fined by the legal system in this country which is paid for by (you've guessed it) your and my tax money.

So £140,000 of tax payers money is transfered from one publically funded organisation to another as punishment and lots of lawers get to make even more money during this process!! (so the total cost to the tax payer is??)

Are the only winners in this scenario the lawers? Have I missed something?:confused

You are merely becoming tuned to the realities of life in the 21st century.
Criminals are caught by the police on tax payer's money. The government pays for the persecution, the prosecution, the defence, the court costs and then £30,000 a year to keep them in jail. Only the lawers make a profit.

The Pepsi Challenge
15-Feb-07, 14:42
That's right - shafted yet again.

Rheghead
15-Feb-07, 18:03
So what you are saying is this. A policeman, a public servant, beats up an innocent member of the Public and gets a hefty fine. The said fine is paid to another publicly funded body ie the criminal courts.