PDA

View Full Version : Discrimination?

cuddlepop
19-Oct-06, 21:08
Tonight in the news it was reported that :the Veil:woman lost her fight to be allowed to wear the veil as she pleases.She was awarded£1000 for Injury to her feeings and is at present suspended on full pay.
Is it me? but didn't she know that as a teaching assistant that is employed as a bilingual support worker it is important that the children can clearly see her mouth and can communicate clearly with her.IT must be like speaking to someone with their hand over their mouth.What if there were deaf children in the class that had to lip read,would another veilless support worker be employed.
This is taking being politically correct to extremes.[disgust]

Cazaa
19-Oct-06, 21:11
I did an Open University diploma and had to communicate with people over a telephone. Just imagine that? Couldn't see their lips moving at all. Still managed to cope.

pultneytooner
19-Oct-06, 22:23
Tonight in the news it was reported that :the Veil:woman lost her fight to be allowed to wear the veil as she pleases.She was awarded£1000 for Injury to her feeings and is at present suspended on full pay.
Is it me? but didn't she know that as a teaching assistant that is employed as a bilingual support worker it is important that the children can clearly see her mouth and can communicate clearly with her.IT must be like speaking to someone with their hand over their mouth.What if there were deaf children in the class that had to lip read,would another veilless support worker be employed.
This is taking being politically correct to extremes.[disgust]
Thank whoever, it's a blow for common sense at last. She lost her case but got £1000 compensation, what a waste of taxpayers money. ;)

pultneytooner
19-Oct-06, 22:25
I did an Open University diploma and had to communicate with people over a telephone. Just imagine that? Couldn't see their lips moving at all. Still managed to cope.