PDA

View Full Version : McBeaths of Latheron

Pughy1971
05-Mar-10, 23:07
My Mum and I are trying to find any information on our McBeath ancestors. The information we have is:

Gt.Granny Janet McBeath b. 1874 Wick d. 1957
Gt.Gt. Grandad James McBeath b. c.1847 Latheron m. Mary MacKay b. 1840?
Gt.Gt.Gt. Grandad William McBeath b. 1821 Latheron d. 1899 Halkirk.

Gt.Gt. Gf James we believe was a Weaver by trade and a herbalist in his spare time. He was also a Freemason (Thurso).

Any info would be gratefully received.

Thank you.

trinkie
06-Mar-10, 09:11
Hallo,
How much information have you gleaned so far ? Have you looked up the census records or certificates from Scotlandspeople?
Was Janet McBeath married or single? Do you have an address for her - village or town?
It's just possible that someone might remember her.

Give as much info as you can, and I'm sure you'll get more feedback.

Kind regards
Trinkie

trinkie
06-Mar-10, 09:15
Ooops what I meant to give you was the address of this wonderful site.

graven-images.org.uk Here you will find the old and new Latheron cemeteries.

Rosemary Skea
06-Mar-10, 13:05
If you go to the FREECEN web site you will find William Mcbeath and Janet(sutherland) with their family - in 1851 at Achscorclate, Halkirk, 1961 in ED12, Halkirk but under the name of MCBETH and in 1871 in Ballcrochan, Halkirk.

James and Mary were married at Westerdale, Halkirk on 28/1/1870. In 1841 census, Mary and parents were at Brehungy in Latheron and in 1851 at Benecheit in Latheron. Haven't looked further than that.

Rosemary

My Mum and I are trying to find any information on our McBeath ancestors. The information we have is:

Gt.Granny Janet McBeath b. 1874 Wick d. 1957
Gt.Gt. Grandad James McBeath b. c.1847 Latheron m. Mary MacKay b. 1840?
Gt.Gt.Gt. Grandad William McBeath b. 1821 Latheron d. 1899 Halkirk.

Gt.Gt. Gf James we believe was a Weaver by trade and a herbalist in his spare time. He was also a Freemason (Thurso).