Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Paying too much for broadband? Move to PlusNet broadband and save£££s. Free setup now available - terms apply. PlusNet broadband.  
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rifle barrels getting hot??

Question Rifle barrels getting hot??

This should appeal to our ex-servicemen and metallurgy experts, when a rifle has been fired numerous times and the barrel gets hotter and expands, does the barrel get tighter on successive rounds or get slacker?

I thought slacker but got told different tonight which seemed counter-intuitive to me so not entirely sure. Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Rheghead; 31-Oct-09 at 23:58.
    God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
    Courage to change the things I can,
    And wisdom to know the difference.

I'm no expert but i'd think, seeing as the metal is expanding, it would squeeze inwards as well as growing outwards- It would expand in all directions, not just outward?

Think about it - the metal that makes up the barrel expands with the heat, not the empty hole.
    "It makes my blood burn with metal energy..."

The way I see it is this, when I did my apprenticeship in Engineering, if I wanted to slip a tube over a shaft that has an interference fit, I needed to heat the tube to get it over the shaft. So I applied the same engineering principle with a barrel (tube) and the bullet (shaft), as the barrel gets hotter the bullet is slack. But my learned firearms expert friend says different it get tighter on the round, so when I took his word for it, I still have grave doubts and he is rarely if ever wrong on such like. It may have something to do with the bimetal make-up of the barrel expanding at different rates.

More confused

Quote Originally Posted by Rheghead View Post