A total of 170 Candidates to contest 22 multi-member wards

List of candidates

The elections for the 80 seats on The Highland Council, being held on Thursday 3 May, will involve 170 candidates contesting all of the 22 multi-member wards.
The breakdown of candidates is as follows: - Independent, 49; Scottish National Party (SNP), 33; Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party, 22; Scottish Liberal Democrats, 18; Scottish Labour Party, 17; Scottish Christian Party “Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship, 9; Scottish Green Party, 4; UK Independence Party, 3; the Labour and Co-operative Party, 2; Scottish Liberal Democrat Focus Team, 2; Scottish Anti-Cuts Coalition, 2, All Scotland Pensioners Party, 1; No description,8.
13 sitting councillors are not seeking re-election. They are: -

Caithness (2):
David Flear (Lib Dem), Landward Caithness; Lady Thurso (Marion) (Lib Dem), Thurso.

Sutherland (1):
William (Ian) Ross (Lib Dem), East Sutherland and Edderton

Ross (1):
Jean Urquhart (SNP), Wester Ross, Strathpeffer and Lochalsh.

Skye (1):
John Laing (Ind), Eilean a´ Cheň.

Inverness (4):
Roy Pedersen (SNP), Inverness South; Peter Corbett (Ind), Inverness Central; John Finnie (SNP), Inverness Ness-side; David Henderson (Lib Dem), Inverness Ness-side.

Nairn (1):
Sandy Park (Ind), Nairn.

Badenoch and Strathspey (1):
Stuart Black (Lib Dem), Badenoch and Strathspey

Lochaber (2): Michael Foxley (Lib Dem), Fort William and Ardnamurchan; Donald Cameron (Independent Alliance Group), Fort William and Ardnamurchan.
There is no period for withdrawal of nominations.
Polling takes place on Thursday 3 May between 7 am and 10 pm and the count will take place on Friday 4 May at Inverness Leisure, Bught Park, Inverness.
The total electorate for the Highlands is 175,979.
In May 2007, the average turn out at the elections was 53.85%.
Results of the elections are due by early afternoon on Friday 4 May.
Full details of The Highland Council Election nominations can be found via the home page of the Council’s web site: www.highland.gov.uk