Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Paying too much for broadband? Move to PlusNet broadband and save£££s. Free setup now available - terms apply. PlusNet broadband.  
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wireless networking - router

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Thurso
    Posts
    276

    Default Wireless networking - router

    I have a Wifi enabled laptop (which uses a Intel PRO/Wireless 2100 network connection, also has a PCMCIA port).

    I have broadband and use AOL as my ISP.

    I would also like to connect a personal computer to this, which has a Ethernet 10.100 LAN card and USB ports.

    Can anyone recommend which routers would be best (easiest to use) to create a wireless network.

    Many thanks.
    Last edited by Sandra; 04-Oct-06 at 18:44.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wick
    Posts
    1,020

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sandra View Post
    I have a Wifi enabled laptop (which uses a Intel PRO/Wireless 2100 network connection, also has a PCMCIA port).

    I have broadband and use AOL as my ISP.

    I would also like to connect a personal computer to this, which has a Ethernet 10.100 LAN card and USB ports.

    Can anyone recommend which routers would be best (easiest to use) to create a wireless network.

    Many thanks.
    Hi Sandra,

    Is your AOL modem USB or does it have ethernet ports?
    Kind regards,

    Paul Broadwith
    Blue Ivy Ltd, Wick - Certified Microsoft Small Business Specialist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Thurso
    Posts
    276

    Default

    Hi

    My AOL modem is USB.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wick
    Posts
    1,020

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sandra View Post
    Hi

    My AOL modem is USB.
    Hi Sandra,

    AOL is a little tricky to set modems up for (other than their own) but things are a lot better than they used to be. You'll need a router to replace your USB modem.

    I had a quick check on the internet. Two modems that came up were the Dlink G604T and the Netgear DG834G which allow AOL access through them. The only thing that seems to be required is that you set the MTU to 1400. Other than that it just seems to work. I've setup numerous Netgear routers so I can recommend these.

    Both of these routers have wireless capability so when you get them working with AOL you can set that up for your laptop.

    I have a spare Netgear DG834G for sale and if you want to buy it I'll even come round and set it up for you - if we can't get it to work with AOL I'll take it back. Can't say fairer than that. PM me if you're interested.
    Kind regards,

    Paul Broadwith
    Blue Ivy Ltd, Wick - Certified Microsoft Small Business Specialist

  5. #5

    Default Wireless Networking-Router

    Hello!
    I would recommend you contact your ISP for suitable equipment as this is uaually cheaper, operates correctly including easier installation/setup and use along with warranty, technical support and updates of software/firmware.
    A quote from another helpful member (blueivy) reinforces this as stated below.

    AOL is a little tricky to set modems up for (other than their own)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wick
    Posts
    1,020

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony View Post
    Hello!
    I would recommend you contact your ISP for suitable equipment as this is uaually cheaper, operates correctly including easier installation/setup and use along with warranty, technical support and updates of software/firmware.
    A quote from another helpful member (blueivy) reinforces this as stated below.

    AOL is a little tricky to set modems up for (other than their own)
    Hi Tony,

    While it is tricky to do, it can be done. There are many guides on the internet on setting up a non-AOL modem/router with AOL. Two that I found gave advice on Netgear DG824G and a DLink modem (whose model I didn't notice). It seems to hinge on the fact that AOL use an MTU of 1400 which is unusual. If your modem can be setup for this, then it seems it would work without problem.
    Kind regards,

    Paul Broadwith
    Blue Ivy Ltd, Wick - Certified Microsoft Small Business Specialist

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Thurso
    Posts
    4,712

    Default

    Depending on which package you're on and how long you've been with AOL you might be able to persuade them to upgrade you to a wireless router for nothing as they're currently offering such a deal for all new AOL subscribers.

    Just tell them you'll change to another ISP if you can't get the same offer that's currently available and it's amazing what they'll offer to keep your business.

    It's better than paying 50+ for a router plus if they supply it then they will also support you with any problems you have in the future which they may not with 3rd party models.

    Hope that helps



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •