Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Paying too much for broadband? Move to PlusNet broadband and save£££s. Free setup now available - terms apply. PlusNet broadband.  
Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 185

Thread: ----- How to post pictures -----

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    on the top of the hill
    Posts
    984

    Default


  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lerwick, Shetland
    Posts
    2,663

    Default

    Oh, Foxy, it looks like you still need to work on this skill.
    Whatever you were trying to post didn't come through on my computer screen.


  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    on the top of the hill
    Posts
    984

    Default

    Canuck i cannot work out what i'm doing wrong.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Thurso
    Posts
    4,712

    Default

    Hey Foxy

    I just right clicked on the placeholder for the picture (box with red X in) and looked at the properties - it gave the URL for the image as being http://http//img442.imageshack.us/im...ndom003iz2.jpg - there should definately only be one http:// at the front - the second http// should be removed. The correct URL should read http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/3...ndom003iz2.jpg which appears to work fine.

    Maybe that will help you determine where you're going wrong. Are you putting in the http// yourself? Best way to get a URL is, once you've got the required picture on screen, then just copy the URL straight from the address bar, then paste it into your post.

    Hope that helps



  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    on the top of the hill
    Posts
    984

    Default


  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    on the top of the hill
    Posts
    984

    Default

    Thanks Bob, think i've cracked it.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Out of Caithness... sadly
    Posts
    2,773

    Default

    I have noticed that when you copy an image from, say, Photobucket... it adds the http:// to the front of the URL. Then, when you go to paste it into the org picture dialog box it also has http:// there already. If you don't notice this you invariably then get two https when you paste. Perhaps Colin needs to remove the one from the org dialog box.
    "Step sideways, pause and study those around you. You will learn a great deal."

  8. #28
    karia Guest

    Default

    Foxy,

    That was well worth the wait!

    What a gorgeous creature.

    Thanks for sharing with us.

    Karia

  9. #29

    Default test

    test............

  10. #30

    Default testing!!!

    http://s198.photobucket.com/albums/a...rent=14488.gif

    So how do I get the actual picture up and not the url?
    Last edited by girnigoe; 19-Jul-07 at 22:12.

  11. #31

    Talking trying again....

    Last edited by girnigoe; 19-Jul-07 at 22:22. Reason: woo hoo - i think i did it!!!!

  12. #32

    Red face and again (just to be sure)


  13. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wick
    Posts
    100

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wick
    Posts
    100

    Default trying again



    Whoo hoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Last edited by dawncw; 03-Sep-07 at 21:34. Reason: it worked!!

  15. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pulteneytown
    Posts
    2,753

    Default

    Why be a hard rock when you really are a gem!

  16. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Thurso
    Posts
    228

    Default

    Poor Voula, good thing she can't see herself..lol
    "I ask forgiveness continuously for I know he knows, somethings just have to be experienced"

  17. #37

    Default Boring Nerdy test pic

    This is a picture of Prostrate Juniper lurking in heather

    [/IMG]

  18. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    wick
    Posts
    10

  19. #39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MJB View Post
    ---- Continued ----


    -------------------------------------------------------------

    When you make your post and want to insert the picture, go to the tool bar at the top of the create a message.

    Click on this button.



    A pop up will appear with a box that already has http:// in it, click within the box to highlight the http:// and then paste the URL that you got from the above process.

    You image should now appear where your typing cursor was positioned.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    It's a bit messy and there will most likely be a few spelling mistakes but this should give you the gist of it.
    Hope this helps.

    Sticky would be nice to keep it at the top.
    All fine except I don't have the toolbar! Where is it?

  20. #40
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Between heaven and hell..
    Posts
    2,637

    Default

    i had the same problem when i first joined up.Took me a while but i found the easiest solution was to open a photobucket account. Upload my pics into that and then copy the link.paste it into the insert link above. Remove the wriiten http in the box and then just paste it..The only problem with this way is i have never managed to get 2 or more pics on the same page ..It will show one pic and the other two are just the link adresses.But it does work.Hope this helps...

Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •