Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Paying too much for broadband? Move to PlusNet broadband and save£££s. Free setup now available - terms apply. PlusNet broadband.  

Thread: home composting??

Default home composting??

i have just recently got into gardening and its got me thinking is home composting a good idea ? ok i know i wont see the benefits from this till at least next year . anyone got any views on it?

oh and if you are thinking about it i found this website very interesting
    http://www.recyclenow.com
    beauty is in the eye of the beerholder!

benefits of composting? where does one begin I compost anything compostable.. biodegrad nappies and all the rest!... you getting rid of all your household scraps and the nutrients from them are making you compost so you don't have to buy peat from the store that they take out of our bogs! GREAT STUFF! are you hot or cold composting?

as i was saying , im relatively new to gardening and homecomposting is completely alien to me. i'm not sure what you mean by hot and cold composting, could you explain the differences please?
    beauty is in the eye of the beerholder!

Hi
    THE Homeaid shop has a display and contact info for SCRAP who will provide you with a compost bin or bins for £5 each if you are in Caithness. It also comes with instructions and an enthusiastic person if they deliver who gives handy hints.

unicorn Guest

If anyone wants rabbit shavings for composting let me know it is supposed to be excellent for composting.

depends on your needs... if you are just composting kitchen scraps and a few bits from a garden.. you'll prolly buy a bin.. this is cool composting....

only trick is having the right mix.. enough "greens" and "browns".. so, that it is neither mushy and wet or too dry... and also to keep it aerated.

Browns...