Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Paying too much for broadband? Move to PlusNet broadband and save£££s. Free setup now available - terms apply. PlusNet broadband.  
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Aerial Photography with Radio-Controlled Aircraft

Lightbulb Aerial Photography with Radio-Controlled Aircraft

Hi all,
    I have been flying RC aircraft for many years now, and have recently thought about adding a digital camera to an electric powered one to obtain some aerial pics.
    The aircraft is nearly finished, and has been designed by myself with all the necessary ideals for slow flight. I have an old Sanyo point and shoot 8MP that I will be using initially. It was a really poor camera, but will be fine for trials.
    The aircraft can operate up to heights of 1000ft on a good clear day, but Im hoping most of the photos will be taken from a couple of hundred feet to allow nice clear shots of houses etc, that will look better than when taken from a full size aircraft at a greater height.

Are there any recommendations for camera settings? I can fly a lot better that I can take a photo!!

Is there any viable commercial interest in this? Photos of peoples homes/ land etc? I am proposing taking the photos and then selling a CD of all the photos taken to the customer. Most people have photo printers themselves now anyway.

Your thoughts please....

Barry

http://forum.caithness.org/showthrea...light=kite+cam

Grants kite pics are really impressive. Check his kite cam posts. He's your man for settings.

Ive seen that before. Its the same idea with the lower altitude photos.
    My settings will be different though, as the aircraft will be moving. (albeit rather slowly)
    The aircraft will give the opportunity to position the camera for different angles/heights views etc much better and quicker than the kite cams. I could arrive at a shoot, fly for say 20 mins and take hundreds of pics in that time.

Very nice pics tho Grant- well done!