PDA

View Full Version : Sometimes these stories write themselves.

joxville
16-Jan-10, 17:11
From MSN NEWS:

The floor of a weight watchers clinic in Sweden collapsed beneath a group of people taking part in a weight loss programme. According to a report in Swedish English-language newspaper, The Local, the dieters were queueing up to see how many pounds they had lost in the past week. One person reportedly told another newspaper that "there was a huge thud, before the floor collapsed along the walls in one corner of the room." A Weight Watchers consultant told The Smalandsposten newspaper: "We're going to have to find replacement premises." The cause of the collapse is still being investigated by local authorities, and none of the people involved were injured.

When I saw the headline I hoped it had happened in America, still funny none the less. :)

Whitewater
17-Jan-10, 02:53
Just reading the post as a retired engineer, I have to ask if the floor was fit for purpose. Obviously not. Somebody should get their bum kicked.

Margaret M.
17-Jan-10, 03:04
From MSN NEWS: When I saw the headline I hoped it had happened in America,

Why were you hoping for that?

joxville
17-Jan-10, 03:15

Because, rightly or wrongly, Americans are perceived by us utterly health conscious Brits as a nation of fatties.

Margaret M.
17-Jan-10, 03:46
Because, rightly or wrongly, Americans are perceived by us utterly health conscious Brits as a nation of fatties.

And the U.K. pots are just a few pounds behind the U.S. kettles now. Last report I saw, U.S. has a 66% obesity rate and the U.K. waddled into 2nd place with 60% -- both countries had better get their fat bums up and moving.

Stavro
17-Jan-10, 03:47
From MSN NEWS:

The floor of a weight watchers clinic in Sweden collapsed beneath a group of people taking part in a weight loss programme. :)

A weighty business indeed! :lol:

joxville
17-Jan-10, 15:21