PDA

View Full Version : can anyone help my pc is too slow

del 123
29-Nov-09, 20:21
hi my pc is very slow,its not the fastest & best of pcs,but should be faster than it is.when i put it on it takes ages before you can go on it.hardly any memory used up.checked for viruses and seems to be ok

teddybear1873
29-Nov-09, 20:47
hi my pc is very slow,its not the fastest & best of pcs,but should be faster than it is.when i put it on it takes ages before you can go on it.hardly any memory used up.checked for viruses and seems to be ok

Need an idea of the specs of the pc and what operating system your using.

You can make sure your cache is cleared, defrag, empty recycle bin and temp folders.

Cedric Farthsbottom III
29-Nov-09, 21:07
What we do is get rid of any unwanted stuff in your documents,pictures etc.I'm not a computer expert,as Bobinovich can tell ye[lol],it does work for us though.:)

As ye can tell I'm no computer expert,Teddybear has just answered it above me in his post LOL.

Vistravi
29-Nov-09, 21:41
How much memory does it have? Anything under 1 GB and you're needing a memory upgrade.

What do you use it for? Internet use and gaming? Do the kids play their games on it? Have you got many installed programs on it?

If you store alot of pictures on the hard drive they may be taking alot of memory usage. I have had this similar problem and just keep them on a flash drive and on a back up flash drive. Considering i had almost 500 pictures it defintly made a difference!

What windows are you running? XP and Vista tend to use alot of memory to run. I was running XP on my laptop but my partner flashed it and put on windows 7 and it runs so much faster now.

Defintly go through everything with a fine tooth comb and only keep what you need. I did this to one of the pcs at work and it made a difference in the performance to the kids delight as they're games no longer freeze on them!