PDA

View Full Version : Sat Nav recommendations anyone?

Julia
23-Mar-06, 23:32
I'm thinking about buying a sat nav system for the car, can anyone recommend a good one? I'm quite interested in the Navman 510 or Tom Tom 300 but there are now so many on the market it's starting to get confusing :confused:

Thank you in advance

landmarker
23-Mar-06, 23:43
I have strong feelings about these devices, and as a professional driver I wouldn't have one, I like maps when I need one. However, that said not everyone finds getting about as relatively easy as I do. My daughter for instance is in South Wales this week and been navigationally challenged for years. She has borrowed her friends 'Tom Tom' She reports it as 'excellent'

That's as much as I know.

MadPict
23-Mar-06, 23:49
TomTom Go300 is very good - easy to use, good clear display in both daylight and at night. Never had a problem with it and it gets me to the door of my destination everytime.
They have a new version TomTom ONE which is slimmer than the 300 and from what I can gather is basically the same machine - it's cheaper too. I'd check on it's specs if you are thinking of one just to double check.

I am fed up of seeing drivers at the wheel doing 60mph clutching a roadmap - some people are just plain reckless. I passed an HGV the other day, weaving all over the inside lane, and my wife was shocked to see him with a big roadmap laid across his steering wheel.....

Whitewater
24-Mar-06, 00:31
I think I may get one as well. On drives into strange areas my wife generally navigates. Difficulty is, she holds the map upside down, and I have to remember to transpose left and right, she confuses me at times particularly one time when I turned into a field by mistake, she told me we were getting to old for that sort of thing.

knightofeth
24-Mar-06, 10:15