PDA

View Full Version : Wasps

igglepiggle
11-Jul-09, 22:54
Hi, i was wondering if anyone knows contact details of who can get rid of a wasps nest??

flowertot
11-Jul-09, 23:00
in the first instance phone the council, or better still visit the council office in thurso or Wick they'll sort things out.

igglepiggle
11-Jul-09, 23:05
thank you, noticed we have one tonight, i will get on to them on monday morning! thanks again

BINBOB
12-Jul-09, 10:13
Ithink u could use the foam to kill the wasps...can be bought in homebase.Horrid things...we had a lot of problems with them in our bird boxes in moray.just filled them up with the foam...DEAD.;)

David Banks
12-Jul-09, 10:27
A Canadian supplier has a "dummy" wasp nest which looks like the real thing. Since the little beggars are territorial, they tend to keep away 20 feet or more.
That's the sales pitch - I have no experience to either confirm or deny the claim.

David Banks
12-Jul-09, 11:01
The company is called Lee Valley Tools and I think they have online shopping. The 'nests' are only aboud ten bucks CDN each, I think.
But, surely you should be able to find something closer and not have to wait 4 weeks for delivery across-the-pond. Good luck!

igglepiggle
12-Jul-09, 11:20
thanks guys, i got a foam for killing the nests out of tescos, so hubby has spayed it on, there is loads off them. If there is not much difference by tomorrow morning i will phone the council, my son hates them!

thanks again

Highland lad
12-Jul-09, 13:59
We just had the Council out this week getting rid of a nest on our house.

We had to get rid and quick we have a wasp allergy in the family.

ABC
12-Jul-09, 15:04
Hi, i was wondering if anyone knows contact details of who can get rid of a wasps nest??

Superclean 894796

domino
12-Jul-09, 20:22
Do not know if it works with wasps but certainly does for bees. We had bees in the chimney and a man came and poured Jeyes Fluid into the chimney.No more bees!

sassybreeks
12-Jul-09, 22:13