PDA

View Full Version : John O'Groats to Lands End Charity cycle

Rheghead
28-Apr-09, 00:14
I'm interested in doing an end to end cycle ride for charity (my charities being Alzeimer Scotland and North Highland Cancer Support Service) sometime next year. I am interested to know if there was anyone also interested doing it with me? It should take about 3 weeks easy riding all told, no more than 6 in the group would be nice and manageable as I've never done owt like this before.

starry
28-Apr-09, 00:23
Don't want to do it but will offer you toilet/coffee stop on the road :)

Aaldtimer
28-Apr-09, 02:51
Do it the other way round Rheg...prevailing winds and all that!
I always fancied doing that but never got round to it.
Fat chance now.:(

bekisman
28-Apr-09, 10:57
Wife and I did the Lejog back in 1980, set off from Lands End June 29th and arrived at JOG 12 and half days later.. 870 miles. No support. As has been mentioned, don't go from North to South, you'll get the sun in your eyes all the time, plus prevailing wind in your face. We did ours on a couple of £59 five-speed bikes purchased from Woolworths, we did no training, simply cycled along the level, walked up hills and free-wheeled down, it's a slog but not hard.
We set off from LE fully laden with camping gear in our panniers and front basket; camping gaz, sleeping bags, even tins of food. First day did 66 miles and ended up at Bolventor on Bodmin Moor - it was late June and it was quite nippy - on one side of the road was a campsite, where we have to pay a £3 (?) fee + extra for a shower, whilst on the other side was a B&B @ £7 (?).. so decided discretion was the better part of valour and stayed at the B&B; lovely soft bed, warmth, good fry-up for breakfast.