PDA

View Full Version : Sewing

Dadie
01-Mar-09, 22:26
Ok im not good at this at all.
But I want to try to make fairy costumes for my children.... I have wings bought and need to do skirts... thinking of a band with net triangles sewn on.

Any advice or tips would be appreciated.

Ps would have to handsew as my mum wont let anyone touch her precious sewing machine!

rockchick
01-Mar-09, 22:42
Not sure if this is what you're after, but I've done a triangle border by taking squares of fabric, then fold them twice on the diagonal to make triangles, then sew them onto a band along the "long" side of the triangle (which has all the loose ends of the fabric). You could have the triangles "stacked" by inserting a second triangle into the last fold of the first triangle, which brings them closer together.

This might be a bit heavy for a fairy costume, but it gives finished edges quite easily, so it depends on what you are wanting to do, or the effect you want to get.

tracy ann
01-Mar-09, 22:52
Hi

I made that kind of skirt for my daughter last year for the gala. There is photos from the fancy dress on the org if you want to see how it turned out! All i did was sew net directly onto a piece of ribbon. I folded it over whilst doing this so it made sort of pleats and once it was on her I then cut the bottom into triangle shapes.

Good Luck

Tracy

Kenn
01-Mar-09, 23:06
Crepe paper might be an altenative, just cut it into shape and then stitch to a waistband .

Kathy@watten
01-Mar-09, 23:25
Lol Dadie, I will lend you my sewing machine free of charge! and am expert at these fancy dress things ..swing in next time you pass my door! Also have a trusty glue gun for when it all goes wrong ...never gets in a muddle or needs bobbins sorting out!!

balto
01-Mar-09, 23:38
did someone mention sewing lol, wash your mouth out lol, [lol][lol]

poppett
01-Mar-09, 23:47
You`ve raised an ancient memory there balto.