PDA

View Full Version : school closures

emszxr
06-Feb-09, 23:42
my oldest child is in nursery and the school was closed today. i managed to get there though before i found out it was closed.
as i am new to this , taking my child to nursery, what are the reasons for closing the school just cause there is a wee bit snow. or is that the reason, a wee bit of snow and the schools close.

rfr10
07-Feb-09, 00:27
If the HQ in Inverness receive any high risk severe weather warnings for areas, the will automatically close any schools/ nurseries in this area. As there wasn't a huge amount of snow today, the majority of schools in Caithness were open. For the likes of a nursery, since very young children are at a higher risk of problems in cold weather, this is probably why a nursery was closed. I've no idea what area you are from but the main road through Wick today wasn't exactly that clear and looking at the Traffic Scotland Cameras, the roads weren't very clear either. They are getting softer and softer and more and more schools will close but I suppose they are covering themselves as well as the children. If they believe that there is a risk of danger travelling to school/ nursery, they will close even if they have only been given a warning so that they can prevent pupils being stranded in town if they live in the country.

Venture
07-Feb-09, 00:35
my oldest child is in nursery and the school was closed today. i managed to get there though before i found out it was closed.
as i am new to this , taking my child to nursery, what are the reasons for closing the school just cause there is a wee bit snow. or is that the reason, a wee bit of snow and the schools close.