PDA

View Full Version : Impact of Dounreay

SunsetSong
19-Nov-08, 22:37
Hi All,

Hoping that some of you .Orgers might be able to help with this.

I'm currently studying Culture of the Highlands and Islands with UHI and I'm looking to do a project on the Impact of Dounreay to Caithness. To give some detail to the project what I am ideally looking at is the impact it had to the culture of the county, e.g. Were our Caithness accents toned down, did Caithness as a very unique county loose anything by the migration of people from the South to work and live in Caithness? Or did we benefit as a county and have a richer culture as a result. Have been looking at the various clubs and societies and (no offence to anyone) see that the ones currently in existence, e.g. Caithness Field Club, Live Music Association were started through incomers to the county.

So to cut a long story short lol....I'm wondering if there is anyone that might be prepared to be interviewed for the project (you can remain anonymous if wished). I know there are people who have written books on the subject and are considered experts but not necessarily looking for that as these texts will probably be referenced within the project.

Ideally looking for locals who were around at the time of the mass influx of people to the area, possibly someone who was a teenager or a little younger and going through school at the time??

If you are able to help I would be one extremely grateful student and of course you would have the opportunity to read through the project and be happy with it before I would be submitting it....Could you please PM me....likewise if anyone has some interesting comments to make regarding the issue I am looking at would be interested in that too!!

Thanks
SS

rjmi23
19-Nov-08, 23:31
Hi, I was a primary school pupil in the 50's and have some memories that I'd be willing to share with you, though I don't know how relevant you'll find them!

SunsetSong
21-Nov-08, 00:27