PDA

View Full Version : dog agility classes?

angie.a
28-Sep-08, 14:47
does anyone know if there's any dog agility training classes up here, I have an 11 month old brown collie, Bernie, and I think he would be great at agility, he's very obedient and loves playing and I think he would really benefit from some extra training.:roll:

scorpion
28-Sep-08, 20:34
Hi angie, dog agility classes are every wednesday night at 8 in te indoor riding centre in Halkirk ,we actually had a competition there today with dogs coming from as far as Inverness ,good fun and a good day was had by all ,come along any wednesday , we look forward to seeing you

angie.a
29-Sep-08, 12:12
thanks for that, but does it matter that Bernie and I are complete beginners? I wouldn't like to get in anybody's way.

scorpion
29-Sep-08, 18:05
Absolutely not ,we were all beginners too and even the experienced dogs have nights when they act as if they never saw a jump before ,come along ,you and bernie will enjoy it

allanrfc
01-Oct-08, 15:44
Hi there,

What sort of prices are the classes if you don't mind me asking? Also does anyone know what sort of age they recommend them starting at - ie is any age too early? Our wee collie is just over 7 months but I think it'd be something she'd really love as she (like all collies) is so eager to please...

scorpion
01-Oct-08, 18:03
First night is free thereafter £3 per night ,as for age it really depends on the dog ,the general opinion is that the preffered age is close to a year old by which time the dogs hip bones have strengthened and they have matured as well .Competition rules are that the dogs have to be eighteen months before they can enter

allanrfc
02-Oct-08, 08:50
Great, that sounds really good!! I figured it'd be about a year old but I'll definitely consider taking her along then when she's older. Been something I've been going on about since we got her but didn't realise anyone up here did agility classes. Can't wait!!

angie.a
10-Oct-08, 00:07