PDA

View Full Version : Giving blood

wee sparkle
27-Sep-08, 17:17
I noticed the other day in the High school a poster advertising the fact that in the assembly rooms in Wick on Tuesday you could give blood. I checked with friends and found the age had been lowered to 17 and thought i would donate some, i was just curious as to what happens when your there, as this is my first time and i have not a clue how it all works:lol:. I really want to do it though, and i've never been bothered by needles so why not :p

x

Sapphire2803
27-Sep-08, 17:20
They ask you to fill in a form/questionnaire and then when it's your turn they stick a needle in your arm and take blood, you get to lay down for 15 mins or so while they do it.

Then if your lucky you'll get a biccy and a cuppa before you leave :D

balto
27-Sep-08, 17:23
I noticed the other day in the High school a poster advertising the fact that in the assembly rooms in Wick on Tuesday you could give blood. I checked with friends and found the age had been lowered to 17 and thought i would donate some, i was just curious as to what happens when your there, as this is my first time and i have not a clue how it all works:lol:. I really want to do it though, and i've never been bothered by needles so why not :p

xit is a really good thing to do, i do it normally, but as i am pregnant just now i am not allowed, when you 1st go in you have to sit and wait for the nurse to come and get you, then as it is your 1st time you have to fill in a form asking about your health and stuuf, then you get your finger pricked to make sure you arent anemic, then if it is all fine then you have to wait again unto a bed becomes available, and you get the choice of your left or right arm, then it is a case of them taking the blood which can take up to 10 mins, then it is a case of sitting down to have a cup of tea and a biscuit for 5mins to make sure you feel ok, very straight forward really. good lucck with it.

wee sparkle
27-Sep-08, 17:26