PDA

View Full Version : Caithness words

Thumper
25-Sep-08, 09:13
I watched a link on another thread thats was posted to show how strong our accent is and it got me to thinking about the words we use here that probably dont exsist anywhere else.What words do you use that have caused confusion in "non locals"?My Dads favourite was "thingmant" it could be a person or an object and he used it all the time,he would say things like "oh you know thingmant" or "pass me that thingmant" and the weird thing was we usually knew exactly what it was he wanted or who he was talking about :eek:x

highlander
25-Sep-08, 09:24
When i used to work in a shop many visitors did not have a clue half the times i spoke lol one time i said i was loupin mad, probably i am lol another one was moochin, its not till i stop and think how i sound then i understand why folk stand there looking baffled (easy to say them, but hopeless at spelling them) lol

Sapphire2803
25-Sep-08, 09:28
Peedie and scorrie are two that I needed to have explained to me when I moved up. :D

pat
Cheil - or how do you spell it? Never heard it anywhere else but Caithness, whenever you hear that word you know it is Caithness through and through

The Caithness pronunciation for chimney - never heard it pronounced like it is in Caithness anywhere else, have been picked up several times for mispronuciation

There are so many but have not got thinking hat on this morning.

Loch not Lock
What do these words mean?
Stoor.
Fussom.
Press.

golach
25-Sep-08, 09:33
What do these words mean?
Stoor.
Fussom.
Press.

Stoor = dust

Foosum = Foulsome. filthy

Press = a kitchen cupboard

A lot of Caithness words can be found here

http://www.caithness.org/dialect/

Loch not Lock
25-Sep-08, 09:36
Stoor = dust

Foosum = Foulsome. filthy

Press = a kitchen cupboard

Well done,Golach. How often do you hear them used nowadays?

highlander
25-Sep-08, 09:38
Thumper u really got me started now lol