PDA

View Full Version : Honesty pays?

highlander
24-Sep-08, 10:27
I was brought up being told honestly pays, but this cant be true, after hearing on the news that 30 million (im sure it said that) counterfeit £1 coins are in circulation and if i got one in my change and i took it to the bank, i would be told tough! you will not be getting anything for it. So here is the delemma, do i pass it on in a shop etc etc, but in the end someone is going to be out of pocket. When i worked in a shop a few years back it was surprising how many people did try to get rid of thier old 50pence coins when paying for thier shopping and another time when i was going around with a collecting tin in aid of cancer, i was shocked at the amount of foreign coins put in the tin, so what is the answer?

Melancholy Man
24-Sep-08, 10:32
Foreign coins can, at least, be exchanged, and withdrawn fivers or teners still can be, so I assume this extends to 50p pieces.

Fake pound coins? Tough! I happily refuse to accept them in the first place. Maybe Isaac Newton had the right idea about counterfeiters.

hotrod4
24-Sep-08, 10:42
Maybe the banks/treasury should honour them that way it takes them out of circulation but on the other hand if the counterfeiters know that they can be exchanged they will keep on making them, its a no-win situation :(.
I suppose it would be ok if you "forgot" you had one and passed it on! ;)

highlander
24-Sep-08, 10:42
Before this was highlighed on the news i never gave it a thought if the coins were dodgie, yes the answer would be dont accept them in the first place but i think there would be a riot in shops if everyone stood and scrutanised them.

Melancholy Man
24-Sep-08, 10:49
Many of the fakes are tarnished and have poorly defined features (especially the inscription on the edges, which are more difficult to strike). Plus, most of them can be bent in your teeth.

hell raizer
24-Sep-08, 10:54