PDA

View Full Version : Sparrowhawk

Iffy
31-Aug-08, 15:47
Hi people
I'm new to this cos i've just registered! You'll have to bear with me !!
Really wanted all you bird watchers out there in Caithness to know that we have a "resident" sparrowhawk in our back garden !! We've actually watched it twice now through binoculars (about 20 feet away) eating its prey - wings curved over its food whilst eating !! Hate to see it eating our garden birds but guess that's nature ! Most spectacular sight we've seen since the snipe ! We live in Ackergill and normally have the wren, robin and blackbird living in our garden! Oh not to mention the heron that my husband saw fly up the street a year ago !!

hell raizer
31-Aug-08, 18:34
we had one in our back garden last night he landed in the tree at the bottom of the garden, when i opened the back door he took off. it's the first time i have seen him this year, like you iffy i dont like him killing the young birds in the garden :mad:

Kevin Milkins
31-Aug-08, 22:22
Hi people
I'm new to this cos i've just registered! You'll have to bear with me !!
Really wanted all you bird watchers out there in Caithness to know that we have a "resident" sparrowhawk in our back garden !! We've actually watched it twice now through binoculars (about 20 feet away) eating its prey - wings curved over its food whilst eating !! Hate to see it eating our garden birds but guess that's nature ! Most spectacular sight we've seen since the snipe ! We live in Ackergill and normally have the wren, robin and blackbird living in our garden! Oh not to mention the heron that my husband saw fly up the street a year ago !!

Hi Iffy and wellcome to the org.
I drive down the lane at the back of Ackergill often to get down to Reiss beech and have seen the Sparrowhawk on the lane quite a few times.
They are a fabulous bird to see going about its business.