PDA

View Full Version : What is Scottishness?

Rheghead
26-Aug-08, 13:38
The Panorama programme asked the question 'What is Britishness?' but the question seemed unanswerable as if it was some trick question that couldn't be answered.

So what is Scottishness?:confused

mccaugm
26-Aug-08, 13:47
I would says its how you feel about your country of birth. My grandfather was Polish and my grandmother is German so my background is a tad mixed up. (Paternal grandparents were Scottish)

I feel Scottish although I look more European. I do not regard myself as British as such as I do not feel that the the UK is actually united. If it was we would only have one parliament, one set of laws, one set of national beliefs etc.

I do not agree with us being vaguely governed by the SNP as I do not think they have a clue what they are doing.

Angela
26-Aug-08, 14:00
For me it's just a strong sense of familiarity and belonging and a feeling of homecoming when I've been away from Scotland. :)

I think you either feel that way or you don't. It's part of who you are.

No need for 'Scottishness' to be analysed, put under the microscope, made subject to definitions, labels or regulations! I don't think it can be bottled either....:lol:

bobandag16
26-Aug-08, 17:31
The Panorama programme asked the question 'What is Britishness?' but the question seemed unanswerable as if it was some trick question that couldn't be answered.

love of the people. envy of others. scot by marriage. your humour your parties. how you hate so strongly . tough solid honest your whisky. after48 years living with you i am beging to like you.but i am an old english b. will mellow in time. t

scotsboy
26-Aug-08, 17:57
Unfortunately for many of the Braveheart brigade, Scottishness is being not English.

hotrod4
26-Aug-08, 18:01

If you cant answer "what is britishness" how can you answer "what is scottishness":confused ??/ ;) Now I am even more confuddled!

Sapphire2803
26-Aug-08, 18:03