PDA

View Full Version : Frustration of those who don't know

bekisman
21-Jul-08, 10:39
I've been looking on the org to see how to upload a picture I have on my PC (in this case it's of our 'bird cage' re Greenfinches) it's 2.8 mg photo, and obviously too big to upload. I've tried to find how to do in the places shown - I am amazed how many of 'us' find it difficult to understand the various 'instructions' given.
I'm not thick but I find it (due to age or unfamiliarity?) hard to follow instructions which are bathed in technical and, well, unnecessary jargon - it's the age-old thing of those in the know being unable to explain in language 'we' - not in the know are asking.
My son has a 1st Class Honours in computing from Abertay, he finds it near impossible to explain anything simply to his dad, he's away from home and I 'aint spending hours on the phone/PC trying to ascertain what he's going on about.
I'm an instructor in various disciplines and hopefully could 'instruct' in stages of how a novice would undertake or follow instructions to reach their ultimate goal. I am not computer illiterate - I do produce a 40-page magazine with MS Publisher which has received good reviews from org members reading this (Hi 'S').. Do others find this 'them and us' a problem?

*Martin*
21-Jul-08, 12:36
Have you tried an image resizer? I have infranview (vista) it just compressed a 1.51mb file to 496kb. The quality is still great!

Then go to http://www.photobucket.com and create an account.

justine
21-Jul-08, 13:12
You could try uploading the pic into a photobucket account and resize it in there, i have never had a problem and it helps for many other pic problems. I remember how hard it was to upload anythign until i got it..

Sunflower
21-Jul-08, 22:50
Hi,, there is a post on the "testing ground" by Chamb which gives a step by step account to upload photos. Very user friendly and easy to follow. Hope this helps.

Anji
22-Jul-08, 16:12