PDA

View Full Version : Sweet corn pollenation advice

porshiepoo
05-Jun-08, 09:49
I have Sweetcorn growing in my unheated greenhouse. This is my first attempt ever and I only have 3 of them growing - although they are romping away.
My problem is that there is no way I am planting them out in the veg plot (they're about 18 inches high now) and I know they're wind pollinated.
Does anyone know of a simple way to hand pollinate them? Plus I haven't a clue which are the male and female parts.
Please help!

Foxy
05-Jun-08, 12:46
If you keep your sweetcorn close together in the greenhouse they should pollinate themselves, not sure if there is a way to pollinate them.

highbury
05-Jun-08, 14:30
you can "alledgedly" polinate with a paint brush, but leaving your greenhouse door open during the day and letting mother nature do her bit is probably your best option

macrosie
05-Jun-08, 14:50
I've been growing these for a few years now in a polytunnel and have been quite successful. They grow to about 7' tall so make sure you have enough height. When watering them spray the leaves and let the water drip down rather than watering the ground. I just leave the tunnel door open and the wind does the rest.

Hope you're successful!

lynne duncan
05-Jun-08, 21:23
we had sweetcorn in the greenhouse last year and found that just shaking the flowers and catching the pollen and then sprinkling the pollen onto other flowers was enough to pollenate the corns!, this year we have about twenty plants growing in the greenhouse so hopefully lots of corns later in the year - yum!

lynne duncan
30-Jun-08, 01:59
this years are up to four feet have about 15 in the greenhouse looking forward to the cobs yum!

porshiepoo
01-Jul-08, 10:13
Right, well I only have 3 alive and kicking. I'll know more next year and will get more of them growing.