PDA

View Full Version : Where is the best place to ski

Astra
27-Nov-05, 00:43
Hi i was wondering if anyone could help me im planning a weekend away and was wondering were would be the best place to go in scotland to ski?:D

DrSzin
27-Nov-05, 00:54
How good are you? Are you a beginner, an intermediate, a piste basher, or an off-piste expert? Are you taking kids, partner, elderly parents, etc? Do you want facilities, eg "night-life"? Or is the quality of the snow & slopes paramount?

Are you talking downhill "Alpine" skiing, cross-country "Nordic" skiing, or ski mountaineering?

Astra
27-Nov-05, 01:29
Hi Drszin im a beginner taking my partner of he has before not really bothered about night life looked at a couple of web sites cairngorms,nevis range, glenshee,glencoe just not sure what the best one is.

Fran
27-Nov-05, 01:47
the best place to ski would be on the streets of wick, as shown a few days ago when the roads were like ice and non gritted.

DrSzin
27-Nov-05, 03:00
Lol at Fran's comments. The last thing you want to do is to ski on ice!

If you live in Caithness, then I would suggest you go to Cairngorm, mainly because it's the nearest, it has decent beginners' slopes at both low- and high-level, and it has the facilities of Aviemore nearby. The latter has lots of hotels, guesthouses, B&Bs, restaurants, pubs, ski shops, and a Tesco (albeit not a very good one), and this seems to be rather important to many current Caithness residents. ;)

I would say Glenshee has more (and wider) nursery slopes than either Cairngorm or Nevis Range, but it's surely not worth driving the extra miles along the A93 for those. The nearest towns to Glenshee are Braemar, which is ok but small, and Blairgowrie, which is a miserable place. I would say you shouldn't go to Glencoe. The scenery is of course magnificent, but it's much further away, it's not great for beginners, and the nearest towns are miles away.