PDA

View Full Version : Chicken

porshiepoo
11-May-08, 10:00
We're looking into getting chickens for eggs and for the table but haven't a clue where to start. Any ideas?
What breed of chicken should we be looking for? Is there anyone in Caithness that sells Chicken for this purpose?

Cheers

Torvaig
11-May-08, 10:35
Good luck with your idea; it would be great to know where our chicken comes from; I wish you well.

Dog-eared
11-May-08, 14:49
I'm no expert, but some basics are -

You can buy chicken sheds on the net, or have one made locally. The best thing is buy a shed and put nesting boxes in it. That way theres plenty of room for you as well as the chooks, for cleaning out the old woodshavings and collecting eggs.

Put a separate inner mesh door inside the main door for ventilation and security. Latch main door back to a post during daytime.
Also enough space for a water container , grit container and feed hopper, although they like some food thrown out on the ground as well.
They can get through a surprising amount of water.

Free range is best with outside access from a foxproof run for when your'e away for a couple of days- just shut the runs' hatch to the outside, and stock them up with grub & water.
As you'll find out when reading up , they need perches, also dont have them in the same closed off run all the time, it gives them bad feet and legs, plus worms.

The library has Chook - books.

Also "poultry keeper " magazine in local shops.

The farmers supplies by Richards garage in Thurso does cheap equipment and layers pellets.

Different laying breeds are available from Mr Grogan at Spittal, @ £7 each , he's got a website too. 01847 841 242

ISA Brown pullets are cheaper ( STD battery type but good layers ) from A Fraser
01381 621 069

Or Allans of Gillock for ISA's

I don't know about eating sized breeds but am considering getting some later.

Dont forget, if you have 6 chooks that's 5 eggs a day on average, which is just about 3 dozen a week.