PDA

View Full Version : Scottish History

justine
04-Mar-08, 12:44
I live here and my kids are growing up here so can any help me with this....I am trying to find the best place to get common knowledge of scottish history and the whys whens and reasons behind things...I am interested as i see in only fair to understand why alot of scots want independence and why england had no right in coming here and making demands...Links would be aoppreciated with some knowledgeable comments would be great...This is so i can answer some of my kids questions.....I owe it to them to be able to answer there questions...Thanks

Metalattakk
04-Mar-08, 12:54
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_history

A simple base to start from.

justine
04-Mar-08, 13:01
cheers for that..Will print it off and let the kids read it.after me and then if tehey quiery anyof it atleast i can answer..I have no first hand knowledge of its past and it is good to know.....Thanks

ciderally
04-Mar-08, 13:06
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Highland_Clearances

try this one as well ...about how the english cleared the highlands rounded up the folks and sent them to america ect..

justine
04-Mar-08, 13:08
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Highland_Clearances (http://forum.caithness.org/go.php?url=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Highland_Clearances)

try this one as well ...about how the english cleared the highlands rounded up the folks and sent them to america ect..

Yes and that was about as inhumanitarian as it goes. No-one has the right to do that to any other....

justine
04-Mar-08, 13:54
Thanks ma and ciderally, got my reading for the night....

ciderally
04-Mar-08, 14:19
have the kids watched braveheart...i know its not correct history, not far off the mark..but the sentement runs in the blood of every scot ...like the song flower of scotland...have fun xx

Rheghead
04-Mar-08, 14:38
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Highland_Clearances