PDA

View Full Version : Foosum!!!

daisie
19-Feb-08, 15:16
Hello I am new to this, so please be gentle with me. :D

I am doing some research into local dialects and have chosen the word "foosum" to look into further.

Would any of you kind people like to tell me your thoughts on the word, its usage, where you think it came from, and basically any memories of the word in use.

Any help greatly appreciated! :cool:

Buttercup
19-Feb-08, 15:27
Hi Daisie, wellcome to the org.
No idea how the word "foosum" came about, but still use it most days as do the rest of my family - all generations of them.
Used in place of: dirty, filthy, grubby etc.

KEEP_ON_TRUCKIN
19-Feb-08, 15:31
i always associate foosum with working outside at tattie or helping with cattle when younger and coming in covered in gutters...... or especially foosum hands at the dinner table!!

Torvaig
19-Feb-08, 15:31
I tell my dog every day that he is a foosum peedie cratur, meaning dirty little creature. The word is in use every day in Caithness but maybe not so much among the younger generation. Don't know the origins of it I'm afraid...and welcome to the org Daisie....cheers. :)

Boozeburglar
19-Feb-08, 15:38
I was always under the impression that it was an oblique reference to David Grohl, the dirty old beardy.

Welcome to the .Org!

Boozeburglar
19-Feb-08, 15:41
I tell my dog every day that he is a foosum peedie cratur, meaning dirty little creature.

Is this on professional advice?

I may try it, yesterday they had their snouts in the guts of a roe deer that had met a train on the Aberdeen line...

:)

golach
19-Feb-08, 16:40
The Org has all the answers

http://www.caithness.org/dialect/

wifie
19-Feb-08, 23:04
Hey daisie - welcome - and thanks for choosing one of my favourite caithness words!!! Sorry not much help on the origin though!

Torvaig
19-Feb-08, 23:11
Is this on professional advice?