PDA

View Full Version : Tombstoning / Most Dangerous Things

skinnydog
14-Feb-08, 21:53
There was an article in the news about tombstoning (jumping off cliffs, rocks, bridges etc into deep water) and how dangerous it is. Now I am not that old but when I was much younger it was something that happened every summer if the weather was good. You would go out in a crowd, jump off the end of the pier or some bridge into a river and no-one got hurt, well not seriously. The only difference between back then and now is that we didnt have mobile phones to record it on or YouTube to post it on. Did anyone else do that "back in the day"?

ett23
14-Feb-08, 22:07
I saw a guy on the news in a wheel chair cos he tombstoned into water and landed on rocks that you couldn't see from the top of the cliff. :( He's paralysed and certainly recommends people think twice before doing it, or even better - do it from a diving board in a swimming pool.

It's something I've never done before and certainly won't be doing in the future. Would be interested if there are any orgers out there who've done it and/or still do.....

Whitewater
14-Feb-08, 22:16
I done many daft things in my young days. I know I'm lucky to be alive, nearly killed myself many times, not on purpose, but, I used to think I was immortal.........Ah! the joys of youth. Unfortunately, (or is it), I have more sense now and life is still exciting, but, what thrills me now is not so life threatening.

My trouble is when the grandsons do something daft, and their parents say "tell him it's dangerous grandad", I often have great difficulty in keeping the smile off my face when I'm supposed to be making them aware of the danger they placed themselves in, and I know I was just as guilty in my young days. Don't really like the double standard. But I guess thats life and why us grandparents are supposed to be very wise.......... If only they knew!

balto
14-Feb-08, 22:30