PDA

View Full Version : Spiritual Conflict?

JAWS
01-Sep-07, 00:49
A Minister in Somerset has banned a Yoga Group run for children of pre-school age which was being run in the Church Hall. This is not as a result of some fear that they may suffer some physical harm due to some of the Yoga positions which I admit I find painful even to watch, never mind try.
Oh no, it's far worse than that. The Ministers concern is due to the fact that, "Clearly yoga impinges on the spiritual life of people in a way which we as Christians don't believe is the same as our ethos.''

I have to admit that I have very little knowledge of the Spirituality surrounding Yoga but does anybody else find the Minister's comment a little extreme or am I missing some deep spiritual contradiction?

jsherris
01-Sep-07, 00:55
And children of pre-school age are really going to understand the spiritual side of it anyway aren't they?
Utter claptrap - I don't know the story, or the facts, Jaws, but in this day & age, anything that gets our little ones out & about away from the TV & mixing with others should be a good thing.
Would this Minister prefer that the little ones start a dance class, dancing along to good ol' tunes like 'All that she wants... Ace of bass'... or 'I'm too sexy... Right said Fred' ?? :roll: (you get my drift here,...... some of the latest top tens are too graphic even for the forum!)

JAWS
01-Sep-07, 01:10
I'm just glad they were not dancing round the Maypole! I dread to think of the conflict that would have caused. :eek:

sassylass
01-Sep-07, 01:14
Jeepers is that the same church which banned Harry Potter books? How narrow minded can they get? :roll:

jsherris
01-Sep-07, 01:14
I'm just glad they were not dancing round the Maypole! I dread to think of the conflict that would have caused. :eek:
Heehee, funny that, we did a maypole dance at our C of E primary school.... oh, those were the days! [lol]

Rheghead
01-Sep-07, 01:33