PDA

View Full Version : Veg Plot

porshiepoo
09-Aug-07, 16:39
Who on here grows veg in Caithness? In the exposed regions!

I have an area all fenced off and ready to start planning and digging veg beds but I've never had a veg plot before and don't know where to start.
I have the books but they aren't relevant to such exposed coastal sites as this.

Generallt what grows well up here? When do I sow em? Do I need to sow indoors and transplant later? What about protection?

I'd like to grow spuds - for all year -, leeks, carrots, courgettes, sweetcorn if possible (or is that expecting too much?)

Is crop rotation best?
I can get hold of plenty of manure.
Are raised beds best?
Is it a good idea to use seaweed either as a mulch or as a liquid fertiliser?

Sorry, I'm a complete novice at this and my friend and I really want to get started on these all ready for next year.

justine
09-Aug-07, 19:20
http://www.selfsufficientish.com/potatoes.htm#harvestYou could try this link. I used it before i got my veg patch going. I am now just pulling up my tatties and planted my late for christmas. I also have cauli, broccoli, beetroot, sweetcorn,leeks,onions and the likes growing. It should help if you are just beggining,,,,,,
http://www.bbc.co.uk/gardening/grow_your_own/getstarted_plotrotation.shtml

Let me know if this any good for you...

stratman
17-Aug-07, 23:44
We grow veg up at groats and am very exposed. Wind and lack of sun has been a pain this year. We have planted a potential hedgerow round my spot, but that is for future years. So far we have had success with:

Peas
Cauliflower
Kohl Rabi
Onions
Challots
Cabbage
Spinach
Carrots
Spuds
Sprouts
Leaks

All but the onions and challots were brought on in the greenhouse

Fruit that is successful (so far) here:

Black currents
Gooseberries
Raspberries
Tayberries

In the green house (which has suffered a load of wind damage) we have:

A grape vine (no fruit yet)
Courgette