PDA

View Full Version : Caithness Origin

Firnand
26-Jul-07, 03:35
Hello everyone I'm a young Highschool Student From Canada who's last name happens to be Caithness. I'm trying to trace my family's roots but every search i have tried leads my to the Caithness county in northern Scotland. I was wondering if anyone knows how the county of Caithness got its name?

Jeemag_USA
26-Jul-07, 03:57
Welcome to the Org.

The actual origin of the name is a little sketchy and I don't think it is known for sure wether it is Pictish or Norse, or a Norse corruption of a pictish name. The Gaelic word for Caithness is Gallaibh which means land of the norse. Most online descriptions say it means horn or nose of 'Cait" but wether the Cait refers to Cat or not I don't know. Cataibh is the gaelic word for Sutherland which is the next county??

DarkAngel
26-Jul-07, 13:25
Welcome to the Org!!

canuck
26-Jul-07, 14:18
Hello everyone I'm a young Highschool Student From Canada who's last name happens to be Caithness. I'm trying to trace my family's roots but every search i have tried leads my to the Caithness county in northern Scotland. I was wondering if anyone knows how the county of Caithness got its name?

Firnand, welcome to the org.

I cannot help you with the source of the name. Jeemag has given you some interesting stuff though.

In the mid1800s there was a huge migration of Sutherland and Caithness people to the area which became Winnipeg.

Good luck with your search.

fred
26-Jul-07, 14:33
Legend has it that Caithness was named after the Catti, a Germanic tribe who settled here after being pushed out of their homeland and then Holland by the Romans.

helenwyler
26-Jul-07, 14:45
Welcome Firnand:).

I've just done a quick search on www.scotlandspeople (http://www.scotlandspeople) for parish records of people born with the surname Caithness 1790-1854 (random sample), and came up with the following results:

Caithness 0
Sutherland 0
Orkney 15
Inverness 5
Argyll 0
Ross & Cromerty 9