PDA

View Full Version : David Bruce Highway Robber Fugitive

deslambley
18-Jul-07, 11:38
Hello All
I am retired from Sydney and living on the tropical north coast of Queensland in Oz. I have been researching my Colonial family histories now for 45 years. All immigrant ancestors were here between 1818-1860. Three of them (two male and one female) were convicts.

Drawing a "long bow" but someone at Wick might have an idea or some knowledge about the following. One must sleuth around and eliminate all possibilities no matter how wild they are.

My great great grandfather David Bruce b.1801 at Barony in Lanarkshire. He was a weaver. In 1823 he committed highway robbery near the Camlachie Bridge in Glasgow. He escaped and was additionally charged with fugitation. He disappeared for six years. In 1829 he came back to the Camlachie Bridge and committed the same crime! How stupid is that? I have his court documents from Scottish Records. He was sentenced to 14 years transportation. A 96 year old local historian told me a few years ago David "liked the ladies". His Oz life supports the fact that he was quite a scoundrel.

Where did he get to in those six years as a fugitive. It is unlikely he would go back to Glasgow had he gone abroad. That he "liked the ladies" suggests to me that he lost himself under his own or an assumed name somewhere remote in Scotland and had "married". On his transportation records he is reportedly "Single".