PDA

View Full Version : tropical fish novices requiring some advice

lynne duncan
13-Jul-07, 10:54
have just recently bought a tropical fish tank from pets at home a 60L rectangular tank, we are total novices but have read all the literature.
on monday bought 3 neons and 3 tetras, lost 1 neon on tuesday, which pets at home kindly replaced however we lost another last night. Have checked water temp and water quality everything seems to be fine.
anyone have any advice please. the neons which died seemed to stop eating and the last one the colour faded from his tail. there were no marks on the fish and the chart which describes the various problems did not seem to cover this.
anyone with tropical tanks in wick who could give us some pointers, we would be delighted to hear from

stewart4364
13-Jul-07, 20:04
Did you fill your tank with ordinary tapwater? There has been chemicals added to the water which can be fatal to fish -- use a special additive to counteract this problem. Fish should also be quarantined as it is possible to pass on infections if they had come from 2 separate tanks. The temperature for tropical fish is approx. 78 degrees Farenhite. I have kept freshwater tropical and marine tropical fish for over 20 years. Unfortunately no matter how experienced you are it is inevitable to have some deaths. Don't let the occasional death put you off -- keep at it -- wishing you all the best with your new adventure but reading it in books is not the same as actually keeping fish -- hope this helps you.

brandy
13-Jul-07, 23:08
also, it is very common to loose several fish after first setting up a tank.. as its not established.
always add tap safe to your water before the fish.
when you set your tank up you need to let it be set up and everything running for a week before adding your fish.
we lost several before our tank was established properly.
the fish create bacteria that is needed for a healthy tank.. so until thier enviroment is settled its always dicey.