PDA

View Full Version : I need a bit of help with a dress

Dadie
14-May-07, 14:13
i have bought a dress from e bay and it was supposed to come with detachable straps it arrived without the straps nuff said..i have bought ribbon from elizabeths and have a pair of the clear straps you get for bras i was wondering how easy it would be to make my own straps with the ribbon! im not very good at sewing and can take a hem up or sew on a button if i have to but that is my limit!

Tugmistress
14-May-07, 14:18
From what i can gather Elizabeths will do alterations too.
I can just about sort out a wayward button but as for hemming, it's wonderweb all the way ;)

Dadie
15-May-07, 09:19
mmm i "sewed" on my sewing badge i got at girl guides with copydex glue:lol:

Marty McFly
15-May-07, 10:21
i have bought a dress from e bay and it was supposed to come with detachable straps it arrived without the straps nuff said..i have bought ribbon from elizabeths and have a pair of the clear straps you get for bras i was wondering how easy it would be to make my own straps with the ribbon! im not very good at sewing and can take a hem up or sew on a button if i have to but that is my limit!

If your stuck, try "Sew Wot" in Wick (01955 602718). She'll do it for you. ;)

Victoria
15-May-07, 12:50
Ive probably got an extra set of clear straps I can send to you if you need them (not saying that you'll muck it up but its nice to have a fall back) I could post them to you but I spose it depends on when you need them.

my own sewing escapade was trying to make a michael jackson glove covered in sequens!!!!:lol: :lol: (I was about 10 at the time)

Good luck anyway!

Dadie
15-May-07, 12:54
thanks very much for the offer but i bought a pack of 3 sets of clear straps in the event i muck it up[lol] my faith in my sewing skills is less than yours!

Dadie
15-May-07, 12:57
pass the stapler and glue and im sorted![lol]

Victoria
15-May-07, 13:00
hahahah! can i see some 'after' pictures when your done?