PDA

View Full Version : what kind of tree to plant?

brandy
10-May-07, 11:34
hiya guys, i was planning on planting a tree in memory of tom.
i was trying to figure out what to plant though.
we live in wick in the town. our garden is pretty protected but not completley from the wind.
i was thinking a fruit tree, that would flower and bloom.
i always thought cherry trees were so beautiful, and cherry blooms are lovley!
but how do they grow here?

stratman
10-May-07, 22:43
Hi Brandy

An important decision I realise I have followed your story, if that is the right word and have been deeply moved.

I start by saying i am no great expert but a keen gardener and recognise the deep symbolism a plant can have.

Cherry trees that have the beautiful blossom are an ornamental and so do not bare fruit.

How about an early fruiting plum that has a chance before the Caithness weather deteriorates. Such as Rivers Earl prolific. An attractive tree that produces fruit In July for most of the country so Late august for us probably.

Homebase had them in and they were self pollinating which would be necessary if it was in isolation. They would be easily available elsewhere.

Good luck. I really hope you find the correct plant to remember Tom.

trinkie
13-May-07, 08:26
Hallo Brandy

That is a most wonderful idea.
The Cherry however, does not last long, and even after a couple of years you would have problems with it.
Why not go for something that grows happily in the north - like a Rowan Tree. There are several varieties. Of course it has a wonderful history too. One was always planted outside a cottage door for Good Luck.
I love the song.....

We sat aroon your spreading shade
The bairnies roond ye ran
We pulled yur bonnie berries Red
And necklaces we strang.

My mither Oh I see her still
She smiled oor sports tae see
Wi little Johnnie on her lap
And Jamie at her knee.......etc ( something like that)

The blossoms are one of the first in spring