PDA

View Full Version : Remain in the EU?

DSTOTM
25-Jun-16, 21:18
I don't quite understand it, why did the majority of the Scottish population vote to remain in the EU and why does Nicola Sturgeon want to remain in the EU? I thought her general idea was for Scotland to be an independent country, free from the shackles of "Westminster" and all that but she teamed up with "Westminster" to remain in the EU and now we have voted to leave the EU she is calling for another referendum on Scottish independence but is adamant Scotland did not vote to leave the EU?

I am no political expert but do understand the meaning of the word "independence":

The fact or state of being independent.
"Argentina gained independence from Spain in 1816"
synonyms: Self-government, self-rule, home rule, self-legislation, self-determination, sovereignty,autonomy, non-alignment, freedom, liberty.

From what I can understand, Nicola Sturgeon wants to break up the United Kingdom and wants Scotland to be an independent country BUT she wants Scotland to remain a member of the European Union? How does that all add up?

The UK voting to leave the EU is now being called "independence day", ie: we will soon be free from the bureaucracy of the EU and free to run our country as we see fit without having to kowtow to Brussels.... theoretically the UK will be an independent country once again. That's true independence isn't it?

Nicola Sturgeon has a slightly strange take on the meaning of independence, she wants Scotland to be independent from the rest of the UK but wants Scotland to be part of the European Union. That just doesn't make any sense, whatsoever, to me and seems to be extremely contradictory. Independence is independence, you can't say you want to be totally independent but insist on receiving a £1,000 monthly allowance from your parents can you?