PDA

View Full Version : your oppinions as brittish subjects

brandy
03-May-07, 07:58
http://www.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/europe/05/02/queen.portrait.reut/index.html

now i find the poitrait lovley, if a bit lonley.
you can see that it is indeed lonley at the top. i think the pic has loads of character, but im not a pro. crittic so what do i know?

golach
03-May-07, 08:17
http://www.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/europe/05/02/queen.portrait.reut/index.html

now i find the poitrait lovley, if a bit lonley.
you can see that it is indeed lonley at the top. i think the pic has loads of character, but im not a pro. crittic so what do i know?
Not bad for an old wifie

j4bberw0ck
03-May-07, 08:17
It's a work of genius. Technically and on every other level.

scorrie
03-May-07, 10:11
This photograph captures the complete repression that comes with the role of the Monarch. Wear this, sit there, go here, do that. The Queen of the land but, ultimately, the puppet of the State. No character or soul is on show in this portrait.

My favourite memory of The Queen was a film about her at The Derby in 1991. The Queen had drawn Generous in the private sweep in the Royal Box. As the horse romped to victory there was genuine excitement from The Queen and she delightedly asked her Equerry "How much has one won?" to which the arid response was "One has won £8 Madam". A nice glimpse of the person shackled to the Crown.

emb123
03-May-07, 10:44
I like it. I've got a lot of respect for the Queen, she stands for decency and wholesomeness and concern for the people. She has very little authority now but she has dignity in abundance. She does look like she misses someone or something in the photo, a bit wistful and slightly sad like she's looking for someone who's not there any more - maybe her mum, or maybe for memories of happier times.

Long may she rule.

Rheghead
03-May-07, 10:51
I like the photo as well. I am glad the SNP will constitutionally keep the monarchy in an Independent Scotland. :)

Boozeburglar