PDA

View Full Version : Working From Home

weeker2014
24-Aug-14, 22:49
Hi All

Just wondered what all your thoughts were around home working? Good and bad experiences!

susie
25-Aug-14, 03:06
I've been working from home for 35 years. I'm a self-employed farmer. I had other jobs working for other folk before and during the farm. Unless you are very good at being strict with yourself with regard to keeping your work hours and always finishing things on time, then I would say you should do your job at work. Self-discipline takes a long time to get used to, you have to stick to a sound list of priorities and make others at home respect your work time (in reality they won't). If you will be self-employed as well then that brings a whole new set of problems and things to get to grips with. Don't know if this is much help but I can expand if you like.

richardj
25-Aug-14, 08:05
weeker2014 - Susie sums it up, you need a lot of self-discipline to work at home - walking the dogs, going to get "something from the shops" etc. is often more interesting than doing the work that brings in the money. But many people now work successfully from home and you may also just love doing it.

One thing to be careful about is not to jump in to all (or any) of the work at home schemes found on the Internet or advertised in newspapers - often you will end up paying money to join the scheme and find that there is very little income or any coming back. Probably the best way to work at home is to develop your own business built on skills you already have, and to develop it part-time while in employment. This way you can make the transition from working for an employer who pays the wages, pays the tax and National Insurance on your behalf and probably also contributes to your pension fund to a business where you need to do all that yourself. Ok with a good business plan and a good idea you may end up earning more being self-employed but not always.