PDA

View Full Version : Christening??

caithpal
17-Apr-05, 20:42
Iwant to get my kid christened (4months old) but neither my wife or I are Church goers or intend to go to church regularly. Am I right to want to get him christened if we have no plans of following the Christian faith?

I wouldn't know where to start or how to approach a minister and say "hi I want you to christen my son but you'll never see me again on a Sunday".

Any ideas?? or similar situations??

trinkie
17-Apr-05, 21:48
Hallo Caithpal,
You've sort of answered the question yourslef by saying you 'dont want to follow the Christian Faith'
I understand Christening to be a promise to bring the child up in the Christian faith.
It's nice that you want a Church Service for the baby - perhaps a Blessing would be more suitable.
I'm no expert on such things but good luck, and do speak it over with a minister they deal with this every other day!

SD

jjc
17-Apr-05, 22:03
If you don’t intend to go to church why would you want to have your child christened?

You’d be standing in church and professing to a faith that you simply don’t have. You’d then be making a promise to the church (and ‘God’) to give your child a Christian upbringing. If you don’t have that faith and don’t intend to raise your child in that faith then it seems a little hollow and meaningless to me.

If it’s simply the ceremony you are looking for, have you considered something along the lines of a humanist naming ceremony? That way you could have a day in celebration of your child without having to pretend to bring your child into the folds of Christianity.

changilass
17-Apr-05, 22:27