PDA

View Full Version : Moving a BT socket

Shabbychic
10-Mar-07, 16:29
Does anyone know how much it would cost to have my main BT socket moved? I tried phoning BT but as usual they have a queue.

Jeemag_USA
10-Mar-07, 16:37
Knowing BT or any other phone company they will charge an arm and a leg. I am a telecom engineer and its pretty easy to do providing you don't have a difficult house. Is your existing jack wired on the the outside of the wall or inside the wall, by that I mean does a wire from it run around the house tacked to the skirting board, or does it run inside the drywall. Are you in a modern council house or newly built house or are you in an old house?

Your telephone only uses two wires, or one pair of wires as they say. One wire is for 'tip' and one for 'ring', the tip is always first and ring second. If the original instaler used old JK wire the tip will likely be red and the ring green. If they used more modern Cat5 wire it will depend on their standard or preference, Cat 5 has four pairs of colored wire, and the first pair in sequence is White/Blue and Blue, the one with white is always the tip wire. Some people use the White/Orange and Orange though, there is also a green and a brown sequence with white too. Most companies will use four pair wire now because you can use each pair to add extra lines or two line phones for example.

Telcom wiring is really easy to do, if you can find some wire or have enough existing wire you might consider moving it yourself and saving a heck of a lot of money. If you have any questions I can help.

Shabbychic
10-Mar-07, 16:47
Thanks Jeemag.

I live in an old house. The main wire enters the house in the lounge where there is a little box thing. Then a wire from that goes into the wall and comes out in the hall where the socket is. All I want to do is bring the socket back into the lounge.

ashaw1
10-Mar-07, 17:26